S Through Z #AtoZ Challenge

S Through Z #AtoZ Challenge

I don’t think I’m going to make it, folks. I had every intention of finishing this challenge, but, you know, life.

First, Prince died and for a few days I didn’t feel like writing about music. I just wanted to listen to my Prince records.

Then, my husband’s brother announced he was getting married this weekend and we offered to hold the wedding in our backyard. Looks like my week is now pulling weeds and scrubbing bathrooms instead of writing.

I hate leaving loose ends, though. So, I’m going to attempt to wrap up this last leg of the alphabet with one-paragraph blurbs.

Ready? Let’s begin.

 

“So Much To Say” The Dave Matthews Band

When I was in college, I worked in a sub shop. I’m pretty sure “Only DMB Fans Need Apply” was on the help wanted sign. I got the job.

 

“Together Forever” Rick Astley

I love Rick Astley. Always have. Always will. Rick-roll me all you want. He’s adorable.

 

“Undone – The Sweater Song”

My 13-year-old daughter has few bands she truly likes – Weezer being one of them. One thing she does not like? Going to see Weezer for the first time at an outdoor festival for her 13th birthday, anticipating it all summer long, only to have frat boys bump into her and spill beer all over her throughout  the entire show ruining the entire experience. Not cool, guys. Not cool.

 

“Vogue” Madonna

In the beginning, my mom was cool with Madonna. She didn’t have a problem her – not with “Like A Virgin” or even during the whole “Like A Prayer” scandal. No. She drew the line at this performance of “Vogue.”  I think my mom’s face went purple the minute that guy puts his head under Madonna’s skirt. After the performance was over she banned Madonna from our house. For life. It’s still in effect. If I was at my parent’s house today, I wouldn’t be allowed to watch this.

 

“We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes Off” Jermaine Stewart

I don’t know what my deal is with this song. I just really like it. I’m such a nerd for this song, I know that David Fincher – the guy who directed Seven, Fight Club, The Social Network and Gone Girl – directed this music video. It’s true. Look it up.

 

“Xanadu” Olivia Newton-John and ELO

Olivia Newton-John was my girl crush. After seeing Grease, I thought she was the most beautiful woman in the world. But then put Olivia Newton-John on roller skates and you have the makings of a major obsession. Sure, the movie Xanadu is majorly weird. But…Olivia Newton-John…and roller skates.

 

“You Oughta Know” Alanis Morissette

Even though this is a break-up song, it only ever makes me think of my two best friends – Amy and Chassidy. If a friendship can have a theme song, then this was ours. Back when we were 19, we would sit on the floor in Amy’s apartment and listen to Jagged Little Pill over and over while we painted our fingernails blue and drank a god-awful mix of vodka and Kool-Aid. Who needs stupid boys when you’re 19 and have two amazing best friends and Alanis Morissette?

 

“Zoot Suit Riot” Cherry Poppin’ Daddies

When I first started hanging out with my husband, I thought he liked to dance. This might be because we went to Jokers together almost every weekend. (For those of you not familiar with the University of Northern Iowa’s active night club scene – Jokers was one of the three dance clubs in the “Barmuda Triangle”). My husband – who was just my friend then – would get out on the floor and shake his booty like the rest of us. And he seemed to be having a good time, too. We even came up with a swing routine to this song. (And, no, it looked nothing like those Gap ads.) Then we started dating and trips to Joker’s got less and less frequent. Turns out Jokers was the old bait-and-switch. He only went there because he had a crush on me. So, we don’t go out dancing as much as we used to. But if we do, and this song ever comes on, you can be sure we’re out on the floor doing our clumsy swing routine. And having a great time.

 

All right, folks, I’m out. You other bloggers have fun with the rest of the challenge. I’m back to scrubbing bathrooms. See you all in a week or two!

19 thoughts on “S Through Z #AtoZ Challenge

  1. I’ve started revving up on WordPress a bit more after spring break happened around here a couple weeks ago but I’ve been reading and enjoying each of your posts as you went along and as far as I’m concerned the challenge was more than met. By the way, did you know Dave Matthews lives in Seattle? It’s a weird kind of thing because we’re not a big celebrity town being so far up on the coast and he lives in a regular sort of neighborhood full of bungalows and picket fences. I think it has something to do with his wife is from here or she was studying at the university (UW) that’s close to there.

    Good luck getting your place ready for…….. the wedding? You’re a incredibly productive person is all I have to say!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know that! You lucky dog! It’s funny to think Seattle doesn’t get a lot of celebrities given the whole Seattle scene in the 90s. But, I guess times change. And I like to think of Dave living in a bungalow on the coast, just chillin πŸ™‚ And thanks for checking in! I might fall a bit behind in reading and commenting myself this week, but I hope to catch up next week after everything settles down!

      Like

      1. DMB got their start as a Virginia band which I know because I went to college in Virginia. My freshman year they were playing bars, but by my senior year they had a major label record contract and arena tours. This was all a BFD in Virginia you might imagine.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The first time I saw DMB they were on the cusp of stardom opening a show at William & Mary’s basketball arena for Toad the Wet Sprocket (remember them?). DMB was actually based in Charlottesville (home of UVA) but they came to Williamsburg often. Williamsburg is home to Bruce Hornsby so we had our own celebrity.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I do remember Toad the Wet Sprocket! I have to say I was a bigger fan of them than Bruce Hornsby 😊 But as far as hometown celebrities go there could be worse!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww…love the final story. Recognized some of the songs too. Glad you managed to finish the challenge in your own way. Happy bathroom scrabbling.:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Weezer and Cherry Poppin Daddies – staples on my radio during high school. Good selections. Maybe you’ll come back and fill us in on your thoughts later in the year. Good luck with everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jen! It’s been a lot of fun! I’ll be back on a week or two. I’m looking forward to keeping up with all my new blogging buddies!

      Like

  4. That was one of my favorite Madonna performances! I was a huge Madonna (and Alanis) fan. We have similar musical tastes. πŸ™‚ I hope the surprise wedding went well! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

