“Let ‘Em Say” Lizzo and Caroline Smith, #AtoZChallenge

“Let ‘Em Say” Lizzo and Caroline Smith, #AtoZChallenge

Since today is the letter “L” I’m dedicating this post to all the ladies out there.(Sorry, gents.)

Because, if there’s one thing a girl needs in life, it’s a great female anthem. Whether we’re feeling good, bad, insecure, fierce, funny, pissy, or even just a little bloated, we’ve got some amazing company: Aretha, Beyonce, Chaka Kahn, Janet Jackson, Madonna, Cyndi Lauper, Lady Gaga, Pink, Liz Phair, Alanis Morissette, Gwen Stefani, Courtney Love, Bikini Kill, Sleater-Kinney, Joan Jett, Patti Smith, Shania Twain, Patsy Cline, Queen Latifah, Salt-N-Pepa, Nicki Minaj, Missy Elliott…hell, all The Spice Girls!

Us ladies know the pure joy of belting out “I Will Survive” on the dance floor with our gal pals while girl-drink-drunk on Bahama Mamas. It doesn’t matter if we’ve been dumped or not. Boys are beside the point. We’re out there because we love to sing with our girls, and the tiny little umbrellas just enhance the whole experience.They make us feel more girly.

There are so many anthems out there to choose from (I plan on writing about a more famous one a little later this month) but I picked this one because these are two bad-ass ladies who are loving life and you can’t go wrong with that.

The description for the video says it all:

In celebration of all the ladies out there that were told they were “too this” and “not enough that”; All of the mamas out there busting their asses; All of the women out there that make us proud to hold a microphone.

It’s been my go-to song whenever I’ve needed a little pick-me-up this past year. Because, as these women remind us … “livin’ well’s the best revenge.” Hope you enjoy it. And please drop me a line with your favorite female anthem! I’d love to hear it!

 

 

 

13 thoughts on ““Let ‘Em Say” Lizzo and Caroline Smith, #AtoZChallenge

  1. I’m rather fond of “Gonna Be an Engineer” by Peggy Seeger. Not only it is hilarious, but it is so full of words I swear I hear something new every time I listen to the song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

