Blogger Recognition Award

Blogger Recognition Award

Thanks to Niki over at A Texan’s View of Upstate New York for nominating me for this award! She runs a sweet little blog about her life as an army wife and shows off some cute crafts to boot. I will try to do you proud.

But first, there are a few rules.

blogger-recognition-award-2

——-

The Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you and give a link to their blog. Done
  • Display the award on your post and write about it. Done
  • Give a brief history on your blog itself. See below
  • Offer a piece of advice to new and upcoming bloggers. See below below
  • Select 10 other bloggers you wish to nominate. See all the way below

 

The Beginnings

I started blogging a year ago. I had been writing fiction for a  while, but in all honesty I was just revising the same three chapters on an endless loop.  To get myself out of the rut, I switched gears and wrote a personal essay about my love for Dirty Dancing for my writing group. That essay made me realize all of my fiction was just a poorly disguised memoir. It seemed more efficient to just write a blog.  A couple of months later, I started Mixtapes and Cupcakes.
A Little Advice

I’m not an expert at this blogging thing. Before starting my own, I barely knew what a blog was. I thought they were places to write fan fiction and bash celebrities.

While I may not be the world’s leading authority on blogging,  these are the pieces of advice I give myself every day. Most of the time I ignore it. But some days, it does help.

First, don’t chase stats. It’s usually just depressing, especially in the beginning. They will make you want to ditch the whole effort, and that would be a shame considering how long it took you just to pick out a name.

When you do look at your stats and realize only five people are reading your blog, remind yourself that people are very busy and there is a lot competing for their attention. The fact that five people took the time out of their day to read your words is a gift. Be grateful for that.

Secondly, write the kinds of things you want to read. That’s the only way you will be satisfied with your work. I try to write with humor because that’s what I like to read. If I had a fashion blog, it would be unreadable. It would be post after post about how great sweatpants are.

And, lastly, write honestly. Unless your mom is one of your readers. Then you might want to filter out some of the dirty stuff.

 

Nominees

Every day I read great blogs and think to myself, “How is it possible these people aren’t published?” I honestly don’t know. But I’m glad I found them.

(P.S. If any of you nominees don’t want to do the award thing, that’s totally fine. I understand it’s not everyone’s bag.)

My Ball of Wax

Rainy Day Writing

The DRAGONE Files

JJ Jibberjabber

Did You Dress Up For This

Adulthood…If I Must

Ben’s Bitter Blog

Jill Veldhouse

Mommy & Everything

Second Rate Mom

 

9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination! I’m honoured that you thought of me and will spread the love tomorrow (unless the big ice storm that’s coming knocks out all my power).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the recognition Jean Marie! You were one of the first bloggers to like or comment on my blog, and I appreciate your appreciation! And reading your blog always makes me chuckle, which is such a good thing! I was considering slogging around in the rain and mud today doing much needed gardening chores, but now I have an excuse to stay in and work on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

