Sometimes I Forget I Am An Adult

Sometimes I Forget I Am An Adult

 

Being a grown-up isn’t turning out the way I planned. Not exactly anyway.

Don’t get me wrong, adulthood has provided me with some great things which I’m very fortunate to have – a wonderful husband, two awesome kids, a house, a job, a semi-futuristic hybrid car.

But, forgive me for sounding whiny here, it isn’t quite as much fun as I thought it would be.

When I’m calling the shots…” 10-year-old me thought as I dreamt about ice cream for dinner and wearing pantyhose every day.

I wanted to bring home the bacon, fry it up in a pan. I wanted choices. I wanted control. More specifically, control-top. And I wanted to never eat cabbage rolls again.

Then I actually grew up and realized eating ice cream for dinner every day will make me fat and sick and pantyhose are the devil’s undergarments. And cabbage rolls are really pretty good.

Adulthood isn’t one big chocolate-Frosty-fueld rave. There are endless obligations that compromise our independence – budgets, schedules, deadlines, the needs and wants of the people we share our lives with. In some ways we aren’t in control of our lives any more then when we were 10.

So, when something happens that reminds me being an adult is not all work and bills, but something that sometimes has its benefits, I grab hold.

For instance, I am legitimately surprised and thrilled when I remember:

I can buy a bottle of wine and drink it in our hotel room when we’re on a trip.

I can take my daughters to a fancy restaurant, whether my husband wants to go or not.

I can eat noodles on the couch.

I can go out dancing until 2 a.m.

I can stay home and watch Monty Python and The Holy Grail in my sweatpants.

I can make eggplant for dinner even though I’m the only one who likes it.

I can go to bed at 8 p.m. or I can stay up until 3 a.m. reading Emma for the 500th time.

It doesn’t matter. The important thing is I get to choose.

This list might seem a little sad and pathetic, but it’s my list. And I’m a grown-up. So you can go jump in a lake.

What about you? What do you do to remind yourself you’re an adult?

 

 

15 thoughts on “Sometimes I Forget I Am An Adult

  1. I remind myself I am an adult when I see one of my children writing with such flair. I can enjoy an adult moment reading her articles over and over. Thanks, Jean, for making my adult moments really interesting and fun. Sorry about the cabbage rolls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I think in many ways I am still fighting against being a grown up, but I did make my very first roast chicken the other day (I’m 40) which I think gets me a little bit closer. BTW, thanks for the like on thinkdreamdo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey…you’re a grown up! I say play with those Legos all by yourself! Thomas the Train, though? You might want to keep between you and the kids 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

