Just Put Your Pickle On Everyone’s Plate, College Boy…

Just Put Your Pickle On Everyone’s Plate, College Boy…

“And leave the hard stuff to me.”

This is one of my favorite lines from Dirty Dancing. Johnny Castle says it to Robbie the Creep after Robbie insults him. Johnny fires this line back and then knocks a bunch of napkins off the table. I can totally see why Baby fell for him.

I try to work this line into conversation as much as I can, but its surprisingly hard. It really only works when I’m telling my kids to set the table and its veggie burger night. Then they get mad when I knock the napkins off the table.

Dirty Dancing has been on my mind a lot lately, mostly because Dirty Dancing: The Musical has come to Des Moines and I have to drive by the Civic Center’s billboard every day on my way home from work.

I feel like its everywhere. The electronic road sign they have over I-235 was flashing this message the other day: “Nobody puts baby in a car unless properly buckled.”

Given my love for the movie, you would think I would be dying to go. I hate to tell you, but the only way I would plunk down $113 to see it is if Jennifer Grey were up there on stage with her original nose and Patrick Swayze and Jerry Orbach were back from the dead to reprise their roles. Otherwise, it’s like watching Pretty in Beige instead of Pretty in Pink.

I want to keep my memories of the movie pristine. I don’t want to spoil it with a bunch of cheesy musical numbers involving the song “Hungry Eyes.” And I’m pretty sure the actress who plays “Baby” is wearing a wig.

Speaking of pickles….

My friend Nicole has a lighter with a pickle on it. Do you think that’s weird? We think its weird. What does a pickle have to do with smoking? Or lighting things on fire?

She said the cashier at Walgreen’s handed it to her, so she didn’t get a look at the other lighters available, but did wonder if it was a series. Maybe other condiments like mustard and ketchup? Or what about a series of lighters featuring all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese or onions? Maybe one with a sesame seed bun?

If you have any answers to this burning question, Nicole and I would really like to know.

P.S. Sorry for the random thoughts today but I’ve been working on another writing project and my brain is having trouble forming any further cohesive thoughts. You’re stuck with my pickle brain.

6 thoughts on “Just Put Your Pickle On Everyone’s Plate, College Boy…

Leave a Reply

