When Loving The Backstreet Boys Hurts

When Loving The Backstreet Boys Hurts

Before I say anything else, I need to establish that I know its 2015 and not 1999. I am 39 years old.  I know Barrack Obama is our president and Zayn whats-his-face just left One Direction.

That being said, I had a really hard time containing myself yesterday while listening to a Backstreet Boys song.

I was trying to kill a little downtime at work, and I came across an article on The A.V. Club called “Can You Take Me High Enough?: 24 Songs with a Pivotal Key Change.”

I’m a sucker for songs with key changes. Maybe because I love karaoke and these songs make the best karaoke songs. Songs like “Total Eclipse of the Heart,” “Livin’ On a Prayer,” “I Will Always Love You,” ….or…I don’t know…maybe a little song called “I Want It That Way” by the Backstreet Boys. Instant karaoke gold.

Now, I’ve always been more solidly in the N’Sync camp than the Backstreet Boys camp. I don’t have a good argument for this. They were virtually the same band. They both wore flowing white shirts in the rain, they both had the one member with the weird hair and goggles who looked too old to be in the band.  I don’t know why I liked N’Sync better. Maybe it was Joey Fatone. That’s just how I roll.

But, there’s no denying that “I Want It That Way” is a good song. My husband will try to deny it, but he’s wrong.

So, I read the little write up they had on the song, and clicked on the accompanying video. Before too long, I was overcome with the urge to burst into song. It was my fire…my one desire. I wanted to throw my arms out wide and twirl around the cubicles like Maria through the Alps.

Maria-the-sound-of-music-28956364-1024-768

But that’s the kind of behavior that gets you sent to Dottie in HR. So, I had to sit there and fight every boy-band-loving fiber of my being. It was painful.

When I got home, I was agitated and restless. I needed my fix. Like a junkie looking for some smack, I pulled up every irresistible pop song I could think of. I left no awesome 90s playlist on Spotify untouched. I sang “Whatta Man” while unloading the dishwasher. I sang “Always Be My Baby” while eating spaghetti. And, yes, I sang my ass off to “I Want It That Way.”

So, here is my Friday gift to you. I dare you not to sing along.

4 thoughts on “When Loving The Backstreet Boys Hurts

    1. Oh, too funny! I’m sure Shawn wanted to give me one after making him listen to all that stuff last night. He doesn’t usually glare at me over the dinner table 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

