Books By My Bed

Books By My Bed

 SDC11739 (2)

Not That Kind of Girl – Lena Dunham

I’m anxious to read this one. I haven’t seen “Girls” but I read an essay she wrote for The New Yorker on being friends with Norah Ephron. I was jealous of that fact, so I decided I would set out to become more like Lena Dunham in the hopes of one day befriending the next Norah Ephron.

Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs – Chuck Klosterman

Speaking of Norah Ephron, the first essay in this book – “This is Emo” – is all about how romantic comedies like “When Harry Met Sally” and “Say Anything” screwed up any chances Chuck Klosterman had of being happy with a woman.

I read the essay couple of years ago and I couldn’t get over this passage:

“It appears countless women born between the years of 1965 and 1978 are in love with John Cusack. I cannot fathom how he isn’t the number-one box-office star in America, because every straight girl I know would sell her soul to share a milkshake with that motherfucker…. But here’s what none of these upwardly mobile women seem to realize. They don’t love John Cusack. They love Lloyd Dobler.”

This was essentially the theme of the novel I was going to write, until I realized Chuck Klosterman wrote it first, and better, and in 10 pages.

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

I requested this one from the library without knowing a lot about it other than it came highly recommended. The inside flap used words like “heartbreakingly romantic” and a review for it on the back of “One Plus One” said it was “achingly hard to read at moments” and that it was to be “devoured like candy, between tears.” This is all code for “these two characters are going to fall in love and then one of them will die.” So, I skipped to the last page of the book. I’ve been suckered into this type of thing too many times to count. I don’t need to stay up until 2 am, letting my arm go numb from holding up 369 pages, only to have someone die on me. Thanks, but no thanks, Ms. Moyes. I’m no dummy.

One Plus One – Jojo Moyes

I just started this one, so the verdict is still out. Nobody better die.

Kick Me: Adventures in Adolescence – Paul Feig

Feig was the creator of the show “Freaks and Geeks.” This book of essays makes it abundantly clear that his life was major source material for that show.

When You are Engulfed In Flames – David Sedaris

This book, along with “Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs,” is on my nightstand as a back-up book. I’ve read them before. They’re mostly there in case I hate all of the books I’ve checked out and the library won’t open again until the morning.

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories: The Secret of the Old Clock – Carolyn Keene

I read a shit-load of Nancy Drew books when I was a kid. I couldn’t get enough of them. I thought it might be fun to reread them, maybe try to recapture a bit of my youth. I couldn’t get past the first two paragraphs.

“Nancy Drew, an attractive girl of eighteen, was driving home along a country road in her new, dark blue convertible. She had just delivered some legal papers for her father.

‘It was sweet of Dad to give me this car for my birthday,’ she thought. ‘And it’s fun to help him with his work.'”

Cripes! Maybe the mysteries were really complicated or something?

 

5 thoughts on “Books By My Bed

Leave a Reply

